The Return of Ordinary Time

One of the many things I love about being a church and an academic family is that we get so many calendars to follow, so many seasons to be in, so many new beginnings, especially in the next few months.  Right now it’s the beginning of a new school year; in a couple of months we’ll begin the liturgical season of Advent, which begins a new church year; and then of course the New Year, the beginning of the new calendar year.  So many chances to get it right with those resolutions!

But what I especially love is when the seasons overlap in ways that let you get to have more than one season at the same time.  The ways they juxtapose themselves can be so interesting.  So for example, right now is back-to-school time — which in our house means three folks going back to three different schools on three different days this week (do I sound a little impatient….?)  All those newly sharpened pencils, all that snowy-white college-ruled paper, those blank academic-year planners.  Everything so fresh and new and full of possibility!  

But at the same time, we’re smack in the middle of the liturgical season of Pentecost, also known as Ordinary Time.  Recently my friend Pat texted to see if I could meet her for a swim after our complicated summer schedules kept us from our usual pool routine, and she wrote, “I can’t wait to return to Ordinary Time!”

Indeed.  It seems like a metaphor to me actually.  Because you know how you always think that a new beginning is going to feel all fresh? And new! The slate wiped clean!  And then it ends up feeling just like …. life?  Like ordinary time?  I’ve usually experienced that as a huge disappointment, as reality inevitably settles back like dust onto all those expanses of time and organization and discipline that were going to be mine as soon as I stepped past that magic threshold of the next “new beginning.”

This year I thought I might try to blog more …. as soon as everyone got back to school, and I finished the painting projects in the kids’ rooms, and got the house put back together, and and and…..  I also thought I would start doing more cooking and menu planning with Micah, since the next new frontier to tackle with him is nutrition, and he is always more willing to eat food he had a hand in preparing.  All of that was going to happen …. sometime….. maybe next week …. or maybe October 1 would be a good time!

But new beginnings are always just around the corner, and Ordinary Time is now.  So I figure, why wait?Here are my new-school-year resolutions, undertaken right now, right smack in the middle of my messy, ordinary life:

~ Blog every day at least until Advent, if nothing else, at least a link to something interesting;

~ Do menu planning with Micah every week, and cook at least once a week with him.

Do you have any back-to-school resolutions|?

About Marta Rose

I am a writer and a homemaker living in Philadelphia with my wife Julie and our children, Trixie and Micah.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

