give a man a fish….

I’m so close to being done with the seemingly endless kids’ room renovations I foolishly thought I could whip out in a few days that have stretched now to a few weeks.  Today I decided I’m either the best mom in the world, or the most crazy, and most crazy seems the likelier option.

Anyway, Trixie decided she wanted a stark black and white and red room, with text stenciled all over the walls — “I want to feel like I’m living inside a book” said my little book worm.  So far we’ve stenciled a quotation from Einstein: Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the universe; and this from Shakespeare:  Though she be but little, she is fierce.  Still working on a few more.

Micah decided he wanted quotations on his wall too (of course), so I stenciled this for my budding fisherman:  Give a man a fish, he eats for a day; teach a man to fish, he eats for a lifetime.  Trixie then decided she wanted the corollary, which she finds funny:  Build a man a fire, and he stays warm for a day; light a man on fire, and he’s warm for his entire life.

My kids.  Oy.

Stay tuned tomorrow for thoughts on the election, the recovery, and the modern equivalent of Victory Gardens (what would that be, anyway? Hmmmmm?)

About Marta Rose

I am a writer and a homemaker living in Philadelphia with my wife Julie and our children, Trixie and Micah.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

