Recovery Gardens?

I keep thinking about Obama’s speech to the DNC, which I thought was terrific, despite mixed reviews from the pundits. The speech gave me that feeling I think we all love, that feeling that we ought to roll up our sleeves, work hard, make some sacrifices, do our part, we’re all in this together! We can do it! We can move this recovery along! We can get people back to work!

Except, I have no idea what I can actually do. Other than vote for Barack Obama, which I plan to do, for lots and lots of reasons. And sure, I can give him money, which I already do, and I can volunteer in the campaign, which I will no doubt before the election is over…..

But what is the equivalent of a Victory Garden? What could individual folks actually do that might even contribute to economic recovery, but which at the very least would symbolically give us all a sense that we’re part of it? Is the answer really, as Bush suggest, that we just go shopping? Surely there’s something better than that. Some work, some contribution, some shared sacrifice that we could all be part of?

But I can’t think of what it is. Any ideas?

About Marta Rose

I am a writer and a homemaker living in Philadelphia with my wife Julie and our children, Trixie and Micah.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

